Another one bites the dust

I read with sadness “quirky bails on building not-so-useful products“.  The sadness is that the initial quirky model was an inventors dream come true, scrabble something on a napkin, get it voted and presto quirky’s product machine will make it happen.  Since I am always looking at new open innovation models, I registered and tried my luck at inventing a few things.  My initial observations were that

– there were very few actual inventors inventing things on the site

– most of the inventions looked like not so useful products

The latest news from Quirky reaffirmed my conviction that open innovation is about two things

– the channel to customer

– and enough motivation for the inventors

Quirky finally has figured the first one out, now I wonder if they will find a better way to make the second thing happen

Leave a Reply

